Events

Wedding on a Budget? It’s Possible!

We had our wedding last February, 2017 and I can say that “we have survived” well.

Our first plan was to have a civil wedding but later decided to have a church wedding since almost same lang naman yung requirements. Our wedding was simple, yet hindi naman mukhang tinipid. So, I just want to share some of what we did for those who want to wed on a budget. 🙂

  • First is Venue: for church, I believe na hindi naman kailangan tipirin yung pagpili ng church. Go and have your wedding at the church that you want. There may be difference in prices for the fees but as long as you love the place, I think it’s worth it. For reception naman, as much as possible try to look for a place na malapit lang sa church para hindi na problem yung transfer ng guests. Take note also that you may have to rent chairs and tables, chairs are 10~20php each while tables are 60~100php. You may also need skirting which prices varies depending on the design. We got lucky that our catering services offered free tables and skirting. 🙂 For our wedding, fees at church varies from 3k~15k depending kung may mass or rites lang, if air conditioned yung place during the mass or electric fan lang.
IMG_3912
We decided not to put decorations inside since the church itself is beautiful na. ❤
  • Catering: Catering varies from 199-499/pax. Depending on the number of dishes that you want. As for us, since our neighbor/friend has catering services, we opt to have their services even if their prices is a bit higher than our budget. At least, I will be sure that the taste of the dishes, and also the services will not be compromised.

    Designs courtesy of our catering services. 
  • Attire: Did you know that you can choose not to have an entourage on your wedding? That’s what we did! It’s ok to have just one pair of “abay”, the church will allow it. So, we only have buy for our outfit. My Dress was just bought online and it’s not brand new. I bought it for only 799, to a seller who just had her wedding also. Quality was good, it looks perfect just as i want it to be. My shoes was same, I bought it for only 200. So for Bride’s Attire, we pay only 999. Groom’s outfit was a different story, we decided to buy something new for my husband will have to attend formal events in the coming months and thought of reusing them.
IMG_0071
My Dress, only 799, not bad eh?
IMG_3815
My shoes was not in excellent condition when it arrived, it’s almost not usable but since my dress is long enough to cover it, I still wore it. Luckily, natuluyan lang sya after the wedding.
We only asked the “abays” to wear something presentable. Since Orange is our motif, my sister-in-law wore a cute dress which she just borrowed. While our best friend wore the same attire he used when he sponsored one of our friend’s wedding. 🙂
  • Wedding Ring: We bought titanium rings instead of gold. Aside from it’s cheaper, titanium rings are more durable. So, I think that if you’re not planning to pawn your rings in the future, much practical choice is titanium.
IMG_1063
We do trek a lot that’s why our rings are on a carabiner (searched this online and find it cute).
  • Photography / Video Shoot: I actually don’t have any idea for prices (sorry!). I am very very lucky to have talented friends who did the shoot for us. We also chose not to have a prenup-shoot, we believe it’s not that necessary to have one. We did have a few minute prenup-shoot, only before the actual wedding. We also have a shoot on a studio at mall so that we can have a presentable picture for the photobooth layouts and tarpaulin.

    My Groom doing a “kinikilig pose” during the prenup shoot. 
Of course, every bride must have a “nagme-makeup pose”, which I can’t do naturally.
  • Souvenirs: We did hire photobooth for the guest, prices may vary from 2.8k~3.5k/2hrs. For the principal sponsors, the catering packed separate food for them, and we also bought some pili nuts, since my husband is from Bicol. You don’t have to buy expensive souvenirs for your ninongs and ninangs. Who doesn’t like food anyways?
  • Wedding Cake: I don’t remember eating cake at the different weddings I have attended, as far as I can remember, I can only see cake during the cutting ceremony. That’s the reason why I only buy a simple 1 layer white cake and order a customized topping just to make it a bit special.

    As I said, we climb a lot so we choose trekker mini-me’s for topper.
  • Others: Makeup was done by my friend. Another friend sang wonderful songs during the pictorials after the mass (She is supposed to sing while I walk down the aisle, but the church did not allow. Instrumental lang daw.) Wedding accessories for the rites was also bought online and is not brand new. My bouquet was ordered from the owner of the catering’s friend so we were able to get discount. My friend host the reception, and both of us planned the program. For Bridal Car and venue of prenup shoot, my tita volunteered her house and car for us to use. 🙂
    • For Hair-Styling and Make-Up Queries, you may contact my friend KM Yamaro at 0999-0249-536 / 0916-4555-012

All in all, I can say that our wedding is a success! Food and service is excellent as per our guests, program is simple, and pictures were really really nice.

Breakdown of Expeses:

  • Church – 6k
  • Reception – 1.5k
  • Catering (100pax) – 44k
  • Bride’s Attire – 1k
  • Groom’s Attire – 6k
  • Wedding Ring – 5k
  • Studio Shoot  – 500
  • Photobooth – 2.5k
  • Pili Nuts – 1k
  • Cake + Topper – 1.5k
  • Makeup – 1k
  • Accessories (Veil, Cord, Pillows) – 1k
  • Bouquet, Corsage – 1.5k
  • Files (CENOMAR, License)  – 1k
  • Parent’s Attire – 2k

Total of 75,500 php.

That’s it! I hope I was able to help someone by sharing some details of my wedding. 🙂

Leave a comment